Skip to main content
1080 Winslow Avenue, Coquitlam, BC, V3J 0M6| Phone: 604-939-9201| Contact Us
School District No. 43 (Coquitlam)
Learning for a Lifetime
You're here: Skip Navigation LinksHome > Indigenous Education
Staff Directory & Role

​​​​​​​​​​​​Administrator
The Administrator oversees all aspects of Indigenous Education, and works closely with department staff, district staff, the advisory committee, and the community, to create sustainable programming and positive quality experiences for our students and families..

Resource Teachers
The role of the District Indigenous Resource Teacher is to help facilitate the learning of Indigenous students and engage teachers in Indigenizing their practice.

  • For the student this means building relationships and uncovering learning opportunities  available to them both within and outside the school. (scholarships, programs, clubs, articles for the Canoe, etc.)
  • For the teacher this means collaborating with teachers regarding the revised curriculum to help integrate and identify perspectives and approaches that align with the First Peoples practices.

Youth Workers
The Youth Workers assist schools, parents, and students in their efforts to develop positive relationships and effective communication methods. They provide individualized support for students as needed. Services are generally accessed through a referral from the student's school.

Indigenous Cultural Facilitators

The Indigenous Cultural Facilitators provide students and their families and teachers with support and cultural facilitation in the area of Indigenous studies.

  • Implements individualized and/or group programs in Indigenous studies.
  • Promotes Indigenous culture among the student body and a strong, positive self image among Indigenous students by various means.
  
  
  
  
Schools
  
  
NicoleYouth Workernbosshart@sd43.bc.caEagle Ridge, Hillcrest, Nestor, Parkland
  
JoanYouth Workerjcouzelis@sd43.bc.caMaillard, Suwa'lkh
  
RobResource Teacherrcowie@sd43.bc.caIndigenous Education
  
AshleighYouth Workerafauteux@sd43.bc.caCedar Drive, Pleasantside, Porter Street, Rochester
  
LeanneYouth Workerlefisher@sd43.bc.caBirchland, Leigh, Minnekhada
  
Terri-MaeResource Teachertgalligos@sd43.bc.caIndigenous Education
  
DonnaSecretarydgillis@sd43.bc.caIndigenous Education
  
BeckyYouth Workerrgulenchyn@sd43.bc.caGleneagle, Hazel Trembath, Kilmer, Pinetree
  
AndreaCultural Facilitatorahotomanie@sd43.bc.caIndigenous Education
  
MaxineResource Teachermaxjackson@sd43.bc.caIndigenous Education
  
DianeYouth Workerdkiss@sd43.bc.caBlakeburn, Irvine, Terry Fox
  
DanielleResource Teacherdkraichy@sd43.bc.caIndigenous Education
  
StephaniePrincipalsmaki@sd43.bc.caIndigenous Education
  
DawnCultural Facilitatorabedinfo@sd43.bc.caIndigenous Education
  
LorendaYouth Workerlmckay@s43.bc.ca
  
MarjorieYouth Workermmcquarrie@sd43.bc.caBanting, Citadel, Eagle Mountain, Mountain Meadows, Walton
  
KimYouth Workerkmorales@sd43.bc.caAspenwood, Cape Horn, Miller Park, Ranch Park, Roy Stibbs
  
KaylaYouth Workerkapeters@sd43.bc.caBramblewood, Glen, James Park, Scott Creek
  
TarynYouth Workertrogers@sd43.bc.caBaker Drive, C.A.B.E., Castle Park, CLC, Lord Baden Powell, Mountain View
  
ArielleYouth Workerarsanderson@sd43.bc.caHampton Park, Moody Elementary, Pitt River, Seaview
  
SallyYouth Workerssheehan@sd43.bc.caCentral, Coquitlam River, Maple Creek, Riverview Park
  
PeshaunquetYouth Workerpshognosh@sd43.bc.caGlenayre, Heritage Mountain, Heritage Woods, Panorama Heights, Pinetree Way, Smiling Creek, Westwood
  
RoseYouth Workerrstones@sd43.bc.caCentennial, Harbour View, Mundy Road
  
AlannaYouth Workerawaunch@sd43.bc.caDr. Charles Best, Port Moody Secondary, Riverside
  
DrewYouth Workerdwebber@sd43.bc.caAlderson, Apex, Encompass @ Vanier, Mary Hill, Meadowbrook, Moody Middle, R.C. MacDonald, Summit
  
RyanYouth Workerrywilliams@sd43.bc.caComo Lake, Kwayhquitlum, Montgomery

School District No. 43 (Coquitlam)

1080 Winslow Avenue, Coquitlam BC
V3J 0M6
604-939-9201 604-939-7828