Skip to main content
550 Poirier St, Coquitlam, BC, V3J 6A7| Phone: 604-939-9201| Contact Us
School District No. 43 (Coquitlam)
Learning for a Lifetime
You're here: Skip Navigation LinksHome > Aboriginal Education
Staff Directory & Role

Administrator
The Administrator oversees all aspects of Aboriginal Education, and works closely with department staff, district staff, the advisory committee, and the community, to create sustainable programming and positive quality experiences for our students and families.

Counsellor
Our counsellor provides counselling and consultation services throughout the district to Aboriginal children and their families on topics related to educational, social, or emotional aspects of the child's development. Children may be referred by the School-based team, parents, or other professionals regarding academic, social, emotional, or behavioural concerns. Written parental consent is obtained before the counsellor undertakes ongoing counselling.

The counsellor can provide liaison withoutside agencies such as the Ministry for Children and Families (MCFD) and Children's Hospital,and where possible, assists with implementation of recommendations from outside agencies to the school setting. He can be involved in facilitating the articiulation of students with special needs through a transition to another level, with school transfer situations, or the screening of students for district program placements. The counsellor works closely with the youth workers to provide service to the district's Aboriginal students.

Resource Teachers
In the spirit of Truth and Reconciliation, the Resource Teachers support and empower educators regarding the implementation and integration of Indigenous perspectives and content into curriculum.

Youth Workers
The Youth Workers assist schools, parents, and students in their efforts to develop positive relationships and effective communication methods. They provide individualized support for students as needed. Services are generally accessed through a referral from the student's school.

  
  
  
  
Schools
  
  
GaylePrincipalGBedard@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
FrancesYouth Workerfbolton@sd43.bc.caNestor, Pinetree, Terry Fox
  
DawnArtist-in-residence/ElderDaBrown@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
MeganYouth Workermcamp@sd43.bc.caMinnekhada, Miller Park, R.C. MacDonald, Mundy Road, Mountain Meadows, Pleasantside
  
CarrieYouth Workercclark@sd43.bc.caEagle Ridge, Walton, Suwa'lkh, Irvine, Glen, Gleneagle, Scott Creek
  
JoanYouth Workerjcouzelis@sd43.bc.caSuwa'lkh
  
RobResource Teacher (Secondary)rcowie@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
MoniqueYouth Workermdutour@sd43.bc.caMoody Elementary, Moody Middle, Pitt River, Seaview
  
Terri-MaeResource Teacher (Elementary)tgalligos@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
Kirk Resource Teacher (Middle)kgummow@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
Lori Youth Workerlhalcro@sd43.bc.caPorter Street, Ranch Park, James Park, Rochester
  
TarynYouth Workerthatch@sd43.bc.caC.A.B.E., Kilmer, Mountain View, Lord Baden Powell
  
MalcolmSupport Workermkey@sd43.bc.caSuwa'lkh
  
DanielleYouth Workerdkraichy@sd43.bc.caCentennial, Maillard
  
DawnSupport Workerdmarks@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
AnitaSecretaryaszeto@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
EmilyYouth Workeretaylor@sd43.bc.caCentral, Citadel, Mary Hill, Riverside, Suwa'lkh
  
GaralineYouth Workergtom@sd43.bc.caCoquitlam River, Irvine, Maple Creek, Westwood
  
StephanieYouth Workerstwatson@sd43.bc.caBanting, Dr. Charles Best, Port Moody Secondary
  
RyanYouth Workerrywilliams@sd43.bc.caKwayhquitlum, Hillcrest, Como Lake, Montgomery

School District No. 43 (Coquitlam)

550 Poirier St, Coquitlam BC
V3J 6A7
604-939-9201 604-939-7828