Skip to main content
550 Poirier St, Coquitlam, BC, V3J 6A7| Phone: 604-939-9201| Contact Us
School District No. 43 (Coquitlam)
Learning for a Lifetime
You're here: Skip Navigation LinksHome > Aboriginal Education
Staff Directory & Role

Administrator
The Administrator oversees all aspects of Aboriginal Education, and works closely with department staff, district staff, the advisory committee, and the community, to create sustainable programming and positive quality experiences for our students and families.

Counsellor
Our counsellor provides counselling and consultation services throughout the district to Aboriginal children and their families on topics related to educational, social, or emotional aspects of the child's development. Children may be referred by the School-based team, parents, or other professionals regarding academic, social, emotional, or behavioural concerns. Written parental consent is obtained before the counsellor undertakes ongoing counselling.

The counsellor can provide liaison withoutside agencies such as the Ministry for Children and Families (MCFD) and Children's Hospital,and where possible, assists with implementation of recommendations from outside agencies to the school setting. He can be involved in facilitating the articiulation of students with special needs through a transition to another level, with school transfer situations, or the screening of students for district program placements. The counsellor works closely with the youth workers to provide service to the district's Aboriginal students.

Resource Teachers
The resource teachers are involved in facilitating quality programs and services in the schools, while liaising with district and community resource people.

Youth Workers
The Youth Workers assist schools, parents, and students in their efforts to develop positive relationships and effective communication methods. They provide individualized support for students as needed. Services are generally accessed through a referral from the student's school.

Artist-in-Residence/Elder 
Our Artist works with students in the school community on projects that reflect Aboriginal teachings and expression.

  
  
  
  
Schools
  
  
DannielleYouth Workerdbatisse@sd43.bc.caC.A.B.E., Centennial, Dr. Charles Best, Gleneagle, Heritage Woods, Pinetree, Port Moody Secondary, Riverside, Terry Fox
  
DawnArtist-in-residence/ElderDaBrown@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
PhilippePrincipalpbrulot@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education, Suwa'lkh
  
CarrieYouth Workercclark@sd43.bc.caEagle Ridge, Walton, Suwa'lkh, Nestor, Irvine, Montgomery, Glen
  
JoanYouth Workerjcouzelis@sd43.bc.ca
  
RobResource Teacher (Secondary)rcowie@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
BrandyYouth Workerbdarts@sd43.bc.caWestwood, Maple Creek, Minnekhada, Scott Creek, Summit, Banting, Miller Park, Encompass @ Vanier, Centennial
  
MoniqueYouth Workermdutour@sd43.bc.caAlderson, Kilmer, Maillard, Moody Elementary, Moody Middle, Mountain Meadows, Pitt River, Seaview
  
Terri-MaeResource Teacher (Elementary)tgalligos@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
PascaleResource Teacher (French Immersion)pgoodrich@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
Kirk Resource Teacher (Elementary)kgummow@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
Lori Youth Workerlhalcro@sd43.bc.caHillcrest, Como Lake, Porter Street, Ranch Park, Citadel, Mary Hill, Castle Park, Hazel Trembath, Mountain View, Lord Baden Powell
  
GregYouth Workerghallifax@sd43.bc.caBirchland, Cape Horn, Cedar Drive, Central, Glen
  
MalcolmSupport Workermkey@sd43.bc.caSuwa'lkh
  
MonaSecretarymlacroix@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
DawnSupport Workerdmarks@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education, Castle Park, Citadel, Eagle Ridge, Glen, Hazel Trembath, Walton
  
CharlaResource Teacher (Middle)coun@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
JackieYouth Workerjtoombs@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education, Suwa'lkh
  
RyanYouth Workerrywilliams@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education, Suwa'lkh

School District No. 43 (Coquitlam)

550 Poirier St, Coquitlam BC
V3J 6A7
604-939-9201 604-939-7828