Skip to main content
550 Poirier St, Coquitlam, BC, V3J 6A7| Phone: 604-939-9201| Contact Us
School District No. 43 (Coquitlam)
Learning for a Lifetime
You're here: Skip Navigation LinksHome > Aboriginal Education
Staff Directory & Role

Administrator
The Administrator oversees all aspects of Aboriginal Education, and works closely with department staff, district staff, the advisory committee, and the community, to create sustainable programming and positive quality experiences for our students and families..

Resource Teachers
The role of the District Aboriginal Resource Teacher (DART) is to help facilitate the learning of Indigenous students and engage teachers in Indigenizing their practice.

  • For the student this means building relationships and uncovering learning opportunities  available to them both within and outside the school. (scholarships, programs, clubs, articles for the Canoe, etc.)
  • For the teacher this means collaborating with teachers regarding the revised curriculum to help integrate and identify perspectives and approaches that align with the First Peoples practices.

Youth Workers
The Youth Workers assist schools, parents, and students in their efforts to develop positive relationships and effective communication methods. They provide individualized support for students as needed. Services are generally accessed through a referral from the student's school.

Cultural Workers

The Cultural Workers provide students and their families and teachers with support and cultural facilitation in the area of Indigenous studies.

  • Implements individualized and/or group programs in Indigenous studies.
  • Promotes Indigenous culture among the student body and a strong, positive self image among Indigenous students by various means.
  
  
  
  
Schools
  
  
GaylePrincipalGBedard@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
FrancesYouth Workerfbolton@sd43.bc.caNestor, Pinetree, Terry Fox
  
DawnSupport WorkerDaBrown@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
MeganYouth Workermcamp@sd43.bc.caMiller Park, Minnekhada, Mountain Meadows, Mundy Road, Pleasantside, R.C. MacDonald, Riverview Park
  
CarrieYouth Workercclark@sd43.bc.caEagle Ridge, Walton, Suwa'lkh, Irvine, Glen, Gleneagle, Scott Creek
  
JoanYouth Workerjcouzelis@sd43.bc.caSuwa'lkh, Roy Stibbs, Harbour View
  
RobResource Teacher (Secondary)rcowie@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
SamanthaYouth Workersdaniels@sd43.bc.caBirchland, Cape Horn, Cedar Drive, Alderson, Castle Park
  
LeanneYouth Workerlefisher@sd43.bc.caAnmore, Blakeburn, Eagle Mountain, Hampton Park, Hazel Trembath, Heritage Mountain, Heritage Woods, Leigh, Panorama Heights, Pinetree Way, Summit, Aspenwood
  
Terri-MaeResource Teacher (Elementary)tgalligos@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
Kirk Resource Teacher (Middle)kgummow@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
TarynYouth Workerthatch@sd43.bc.caC.A.B.E., Kilmer, Mountain View, Lord Baden Powell
  
DianeYouth Workerdkiss@sd43.bc.caCoquitlam River, Irvine, Maple Creek, Westwood
  
DanielleYouth Workerdkraichy@sd43.bc.caCentennial, Maillard, Encompass @ Vanier
  
DawnSupport Workerdmarks@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
CarmenSupport Workercmckay@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
ArielleYouth Workerasanderson@sd43.bc.caMoody Elementary, Moody Middle, Pitt River, Seaview
  
AnitaSecretaryaszeto@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
EmilyYouth Workeretaylor@sd43.bc.caCentral, Citadel, Mary Hill, Riverside
  
StephanieYouth Workerswatson@sd43.bc.caBaker Drive, James Park, Porter Street, Ranch Park, Rochester
  
AlannaYouth Workerawaunch@sd43.bc.caDr. Charles Best, Port Moody Secondary
  
RyanYouth Workerrywilliams@sd43.bc.caKwayhquitlum, Hillcrest, Como Lake, Montgomery

School District No. 43 (Coquitlam)

550 Poirier St, Coquitlam BC
V3J 6A7
604-939-9201 604-939-7828