Skip to main content
550 Poirier St, Coquitlam, BC, V3J 6A7| Phone: 604-939-9201| Contact Us
School District No. 43 (Coquitlam)
Learning for a Lifetime
Staff Directory & Role

Administrator
The Administrator oversees all aspects of Indigenous Education, and works closely with department staff, district staff, the advisory committee, and the community, to create sustainable programming and positive quality experiences for our students and families..

Resource Teachers
The role of the District Indigenous Resource Teacher is to help facilitate the learning of Indigenous students and engage teachers in Indigenizing their practice.

  • For the student this means building relationships and uncovering learning opportunities  available to them both within and outside the school. (scholarships, programs, clubs, articles for the Canoe, etc.)
  • For the teacher this means collaborating with teachers regarding the revised curriculum to help integrate and identify perspectives and approaches that align with the First Peoples practices.

Youth Workers
The Youth Workers assist schools, parents, and students in their efforts to develop positive relationships and effective communication methods. They provide individualized support for students as needed. Services are generally accessed through a referral from the student's school.

Cultural Workers

The Cultural Workers provide students and their families and teachers with support and cultural facilitation in the area of Indigenous studies.

  • Implements individualized and/or group programs in Indigenous studies.
  • Promotes Indigenous culture among the student body and a strong, positive self image among Indigenous students by various means.
  
  
  
  
Schools
  
  
GaylePrincipalGBedard@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
KaylaYouth Workerkburgess@sd43.bc.caBirchland, Cape Horn, Castle Park, Cedar Drive, Alderson
  
MeganYouth Workermcamp@sd43.bc.caMinnekhada, Mundy Road, Pleasantside, R.C. MacDonald, Riverview Park, Anmore, Eagle Mountain, Miller Park, Mountain Meadows
  
CarrieYouth Workercclark@sd43.bc.caEagle Ridge, Suwa'lkh, Glen, Gleneagle, Scott Creek
  
JoanYouth Workerjcouzelis@sd43.bc.caSuwa'lkh, Maillard
  
RobResource Teacherrcowie@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
SamanthaYouth Workersdaniels@sd43.bc.caBirchland, Pinetree, Riverside, Pleasantside, Panorama Heights, Summit
  
LeanneYouth Workerlefisher@sd43.bc.caAspenwood, Blakeburn, Heritage Mountain, Hazel Trembath, Hampton Park, Leigh, Westwood
  
Terri-MaeResource Teachertgalligos@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
Kirk Resource Teacherkgummow@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
TarynYouth Workerthatch@sd43.bc.caC.A.B.E., Kilmer, Mountain View, Lord Baden Powell
  
DianeYouth Workerdkiss@sd43.bc.caIrvine, Nestor, Terry Fox
  
DawnSupport Workerdmarks@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
CarmenSupport Workercmckay@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
ArielleYouth Workerarsanderson@sd43.bc.caMoody Elementary, Moody Middle, Pitt River, Seaview
  
ClaytonYouth Workercskapski@sd43.bc.caBanting, Eagle Ridge, Walton, Roy Stibbs, Parkland
  
AnitaSecretaryaszeto@sd43.bc.caAboriginal Education
  
TBAYouth WorkerCoquitlam River, Central, Maple Creek, Mary Hill, Meadowbrook, Riverview Park, Citadel
  
StephanieYouth Workerstwatson@sd43.bc.caBaker Drive, James Park, Porter Street, Ranch Park, Rochester
  
AlannaYouth Workerawaunch@sd43.bc.caDr. Charles Best, Port Moody Secondary, R.C. MacDonald, Heritage Woods
  
RyanYouth Workerrywilliams@sd43.bc.caKwayhquitlum, Como Lake, Montgomery

School District No. 43 (Coquitlam)

550 Poirier St, Coquitlam BC
V3J 6A7
604-939-9201 604-939-7828