Skip to main content
1080 Winslow Avenue, Coquitlam, BC, V3J 0M6| Phone: 604-939-9201| Contact Us
School District No. 43 (Coquitlam)
Learning for a Lifetime
You're here: Skip Navigation LinksHome
News Item


SD43 Board of Education Inaugural Meeting November 9, 2022

November 10, 2022


SD43_20221109_Groups_JW_with Poppies.jpg

School District 43's Board of Education Trustees officially began their four-year term after being sworn in during a formal inauguration meeting held Wednesday, November 9, 2022, at the Education Learning Centre.

The inauguration began with a procession of the nine Trustees, Superintendent Patricia Gartland and Secretary Treasurer Mohammed Azim who were led in by bagpiper Colin Richdale - a grade 10 student at Inquiry Hub Secondary, two RCMP constables dressed in their Red Serge uniforms, and Judge Lee.

After initial introductions and welcoming remarks, Judge Lee swore in each of the Trustees with the Oath of Office. Following the Oath of Office, the Board of Education's new Chair – Michael Thomas and Vice-chair – Craig Woods were elected for the coming year. A reception followed allowing Trustees, district leadership and guests to mingle. The school district welcomes and congratulates the Board of Education Trustees for the 2022-2026 term:

Michael Thomas (Chair)Carol Cahoon
Lisa Park
Craig Woods (Vice-Chair)Chuck DenisonChristine Pollock
Jennifer Blatherwick
Kerri Palmer Isaak
Zoe Royer

“I am honoured to have been acclaimed as Board Chair. I look forward to continuing the good work of supporting our students and staff. I congratulate all my fellow trustees on their election. I know with the steady leadership of our Board and District Leadership we will continue to be a top performing school district in our Province", said Chair Michael Thomas.

Board achievements in past terms include: student six-year completion rates consistently remaining well above the provincial average and near the top in all categories of all 60 BC school districts; exceptional award-winning teachers and staff who are well-respected by students and parents; transforming student learning in the 21st century; innovations in technology-based teaching and learning; the opening of several new schools with three in the past year alone; responsibly stabilizing and managing a large budget while reinvesting back into classrooms and schools; building closer working relationships with five key district partner groups; and numerous other student, employee, and district achievements and successes.

 “On behalf of the senior leadership team and district staff, I congratulate the new and returning Trustees and look forward to working collaboratively with the Board of Education to continue supporting our district and the success of our students", added Patricia Gartland, Superintendent of Schools.

 The School District No. 43 (Coquitlam) Board of Education is comprised of nine elected Trustees charged with the governance of the school district including establishing goals and policies and approving the annual budget. They are accountable to the Provincial Government and represent the school district in the communities of Coquitlam, Port Coquitlam, Port Moody, Anmore and Belcarra. Their roles and responsibilities are complex and based on several Acts, government and district policies, legislation, and statutory requirements. Trustees are elected for a four-year term during civic elections.

School District No. 43 (Coquitlam)

1080 Winslow Avenue, Coquitlam BC
V3J 0M6
604-939-9201 604-939-7828