

Learning for a Lifetime

SCHOOL

Inauguration of SD43 Board of Education Trustees

School District 43's Board of Education Trustees officially began their four-year term after being sworn in during a formal inauguration meeting held Tuesday November 6, 2018 at Winslow Centre.

The inauguration began with a procession of the nine Trustees, Superintendent Patricia Gartland and Secretary Treasurer Chris Nicolls who were led in by bagpiper Coibre Hutchinson - a Gleneagle Secondary student, two RCMP constables dressed in their Red Surge uniforms, and Judge Gene Jamieson.

After initial introductions and welcoming remarks, Judge Jamieson swore in each of the Trustees with the Oath of Office. Following the Oath of Office, the Board of Education's new Chair - Barb Hobson and Vice-chair - Christine Pollock were elected for the coming year. A reception followed allowing Trustees, district leadership and guests to mingle. The school district welcomes and congratulates the Board of Education Trustees for the 2018-2022 term:

Barb Hobson (Chair) Carol Cahoon Michael Thomas Christine Pollock (Vice-chair) Kerri Palmer Isaak Keith Watkins Jennifer Blatherwick Lisa Park Craig Woods

"I am pleased to have been elected as Chair for the coming year by my fellow Trustees and look forward to us working together to build on the accomplishments of the past four years," said Barb Hobson, Chair, Board of Education.

That good work includes: student six-year completion rates consistently remaining well above the provincial average and near the top in all categories of all 60 BC school districts; exceptional award-winning teachers and staff who are well-respected by students and parents; transforming student learning in the 21st century; innovations in technology-based teaching and learning; the opening of several new schools with three in the past year alone; responsibly stabilizing and managing a large budget while reinvesting back into classrooms and schools; building closer working relationships with five key district partner groups; and numerous other student, employee, and district achievements and successes.

"On behalf of the senior leadership team and district staff, we congratulate the Trustees and look forward to working collaboratively with the Board of Education to continue advancing this exceptional school district in support of student success," added Patricia Gartland, Superintendent of Schools.

The School District No. 43 (Coquitlam) Board of Education is comprised of nine elected Trustees charged with the governance of the school district including establishing goals and policies and approving the annual budget. They are accountable to the Provincial Government and represent the school district in the communities of Coquitlam, Port Coquitlam, Port Moody, Anmore and Belcarra. Their roles and responsibilities are complex and based on several Acts, government and district policies, legislation, and statutory requirements. Trustees are elected for a four-year term during civic elections.

Event Pictures



(Front Row, L-R) Carol Cahoon, Michael Thomas, Patricia Gartland-Superintendent, Lisa Park, Barb Hobson-Board Chair. (Back Row, L-R) Craig Woods, Christine Pollock-Board Vice-chair, Chris Nicolls-Secretary Treasurer, Kerri Palmer Isaak, Jennifer Blatherwick, Keith Watkins.











Learn MoreSchool District No. 43 (Coquitlam) website: http://www.sd43.bc.ca

SD43 Board of Education Website www.sd43.bc.ca/Board